|Is Crispix Gluten-Free? Crispix is gluten-free as it has no gluten-containing ingredients since the barley malt flavoring was replaced. However, Kellogg's does not guarantee that Crispix is gluten-free as brown rice syrup may contain gluten, and there is a chance of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process.|
Crispix was always on the list of food to avoid in a gluten-free diet because of malt flavoring.
Now that the malt has been replaced, there are questions about its suitability as a gluten-free breakfast. Let's look at what Crispix involves and what other gluten-free options there are.
Nutritionists recommend eating breakfast as it kickstarts your metabolism, gives you energy, and improves your concentration levels.
Grabbing a bowl of cereal is an easy option but can pose a challenge to those on a gluten-free diet as most breakfast cereals are wheat-based.
Which childhood favorites can people with gluten intolerance, wheat allergy, or celiac disease eat?
Does Crispix Contain Gluten?
Kellog's Crispix is gluten-free in that none of its ingredients appear to contain gluten: the listed components are rice, milled corn, sugar, salt, molasses, brown rice syrup, baking soda, turmeric extract, iron, niacinamide, vitamin B1 (thiamine hydrochloride), vitamin B2, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B12, vitamin D3, and folic acid.
However, Kellogg's does not guarantee that Crispix is gluten-free for two reasons. First, Crispix contains brown rice syrup.
Although the syrup is rice-based, the enzymes used to ferment the rice are often barley enzymes, which are not gluten-free. You get gluten-free brown rice syrup, but this is not indicated on Crispix.
Second, Crispix can be cross-contaminated by gluten from wheat-based cereals as they are not produced in a separate facility.
Kelloggs, therefore, does not market Crispix as gluten-free but as wheat-free as the smallest amount of gluten can irritate the lining of the small intestine and cause unpleasant symptoms in people with celiac disease.
What Is Crispix?
Crispix is an iconic cereal brand made by Kellogg's and enjoyed by Americans for 40 years. It was developed in 1983 as a competitor to Post's Chex.
The cereal consists of lattice-like hexagons, with crispy rice on the one side and crunchy corn on the other.
Is Malt Still An Ingredient In Crispix?
Malt was an ingredient in Crispix in the past but is no longer used to make the crunchy cereal.
The use of malt extract meant that Crispix was not suitable for those with gluten sensitivity as malt derives from barley.
Brown rice syrup replaced malt as a flavoring to make the cereal gluten-free. However, brown rice syrup is not necessarily free of gluten.
There are many healthy choices for cereal fans following a gluten-free diet – and you can find these at conventional grocery stores. Kellogg's, General Mills, Post, and Nature's Path produce gluten-free breakfast cereals.
Cheerios are gluten-free and made from whole grain oats, which are high in vitamin C. The cereal brand's packaging indicates Cheerios sponsorship of the Celiac Disease Foundation, which endorses them as gluten-free. However, avoid Cheerios if you also have an oat intolerance or allergy.
There are those in the celiac community who avoid Cheerios because General Mills uses commodity oats to make the cereal. Oats are gluten-free, but cross-contamination is common during harvesting and manufacturing unless purity protocol oats are used.
General Mills uses visual and mechanical separation to sort their oats and remove gluten contaminants.
However, they had to pull cereal from the shelves during a gluten scare as the cereal brand contained more than 20 ppm (20 parts per million) of gluten (per FDA regulations). As a result, there is some skepticism from the gluten-free community about the safety of Cheerios.
The manufacturers state that this situation has been rectified and that it is safe for those avoiding gluten to eat the following varieties of Cheerios:
- Apple Cinnamon Cheerios
- Banana Nut Cheerios (limited edition)
- Blueberry Cheerios
- Chocolate Cheerios
- Chocolate Strawberry Cheerios (limited edition)
- Cinnamon Cheerios
- Honey Nut Cheerios
- Frosted Cheerios
- Fruity Cheerios
- Maple Cheerios
- Multi-Grain Cheerios
- Peach Cheerios (limited edition)
- Pumpkin Spice Cheerios (limited edition)
- Toasted Coconut Cheerios
- Very Berry Cheerios
- Cheerios with Whole-grain Oats
Udi's specializes in gluten-free products and has a full range of delicious oat-based granola. The brand certifies the oats as gluten-free. Avoid Udi's if you have an oat intolerance or allergy. Otherwise, choose granola in the following flavors:
- Almond Butter Granola
- Chocolate Coconut Granola
- Au Naturel Granola
- Cranberry Granola
- Original Granola
- Vanilla Granola
Post's Pebbles are both oat and gluten-free, being crispy rice cereals. The packages have clear gluten-free food labels to put your mind at ease. Enjoy all three flavors:
- Cocoa Pebbles
- Fruity Pebbles
- Magic Fruity Pebbles
- Marshmallow Cocoa Pebbles
Another rice-based cereal, Chex, is gluten-free and oat-free. Chex is proudly labeled gluten-free, containing whole-grain corn or rice, and marketed as having no high-fructose corn syrup and no artificial flavorings and colorings.
Note that Wheat Chex contains gluten, so those with gluten intolerance, wheat allergy, or celiac disease should avoid this cereal.
People following a gluten-free diet can enjoy the following flavors of Chex:
- Cinnamon Chex
- Corn Chex
- Apple Cinnamon Chex
- Rice Chex
- Chocolate Chex
- Honey Nut Chex
- Blueberry Chex
- Peanut Butter Chex
Three flavors of Malt-o-Meal cereals are certified as gluten-free and oat-free: Fruity Dyno-Bites, Cocoa Dyno-Bites, and Crispy Rice and their marshmallow variants. The marshmallows are also gluten-free.
Despite the word "malt" in the cereal's brand name, these are all rice-based cereals, high in vitamin C and vitamin E.
Nature's Path produces Envirokidz brand cereals certified as organic, gluten-free, and non-GMO.
They also help to raise money for wildlife through the sale of the cereals. The cute packaging and animal names appeal to children, and the healthy choices of ingredients appeal to parents.
The cereals are made either from whole grain rice or oats. The only allergens it contains are peanuts and tree nuts.
Nature's Path has the following flavors, which are also guaranteed gluten-free by Gluten-Free Watchdog:
- Gorilla Munch Cereal
- Choco Chimps Cereal
- Leapin' Lemurs Cereal
- Panda Puffs Cereal
- Cheetah Chomps Cereal
- Turtle Splash Cereal
- Koala Crisp Cereal
- Amazon Flakes
General Mills advertises Original Lucky Charms as gluten-free, as their main ingredient is oats. Those who are also allergic to or intolerant to oats should therefore avoid them.
As with Cheerios, there is always the chance of cross-contamination with wheat. General Mills emphasizes that the oats are checked three times for gluten contamination, and the flour is transported in dedicated gluten-free trucks and rail cars.
The gluten-free oats are guaranteed to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.
The marshmallows are also gluten-free and can be purchased separately. General Mills is replacing all artificial flavoring and coloring in these marshmallows, using fruit and vegetable dyes, like turmeric extract color for yellow and orange.
Chocolate and Fruit Lucky Charms are not advertised as gluten-free but do not have gluten-containing ingredients.
Bob's Red Mill
Bob's Red Mill states that its mission is to provide delicious gluten-free foods by producing cereals in its dedicated gluten-free facility. Their cereal is whole grain and oat-based and includes cold and hot cereals.
Bob's Red Mill makes gluten-free homestyle granola in the following flavors:
- Peanut Butter
- Maple Sea Salt
- Lemon Blueberry
- Coconut Spice
- Cranberry Almond
This cereal brand includes gluten-free muesli, oatmeal cups, and gluten-free oatmeal.
Kellogg's Gluten-free Rice Krispies
Kellogg's gluten-free Rice Krispies cereal was available between 2011 and 2015 but then discontinued.
This is particularly disappointing news for making gluten-free Rice Krispie treats. However, Nature's Path Koala Crisp cereal is a great substitute for the regular Rice Krispies in your cereal treats.
The Best Choice: Gluten-free Crispix
Crispix has become a great option for gluten-free diets since the change in ingredients, with brown rice syrup replacing malt flavoring.
The good news is that test results from home-testing kits show that no gluten is present in Crispix's crunchy corn and crispy rice flakes, so you can safely enjoy your childhood favorite.
However, super cautious and sensitive people should note that Kelloggs does not guarantee or label Crispix as gluten-free but wheat-free.
Home tests show that Crispix is gluten-free. Crispix no longer contains barley malt flavoring, so it has no gluten ingredients. However, there are concerns about brown rice syrup containing gluten and the fact that the crunchy cereal is not made in a gluten-free facility, so cross-contamination can occur, possibly leaving small amounts of gluten present.
Crispix no longer contains malt. Instead, brown rice syrup is the flavoring.
The list of gluten-free cereals that General Mills labels and guarantees as gluten-free are:
All flavors of Cheerios
All flavors of Chex, except Wheat Chex
Kellogg's notes that Cornflakes, Rice Krispies, Cocoa Krispies, and Frosted Flakes are potentially gluten-containing products. All of these cereal brands are wheat-free but have malt flavoring containing gluten. Crispix is still listed but no longer contains malt.
Kellogg's and the Gluten-Free Watchdog certify the following cereals as gluten-free products:
Special K® Protein Shakes
Special K® Chewy Snack Bars: Chocolate Almond and Cranberry Almond
Kashi GO® Keto-friendly cereals: Dark Cocoa and Cinnamon Vanilla
Kashi® Gluten-Free Waffles: Original and Cinnamon
Pure Organic™ Fruit Snacks
Bear Naked® Bites
Bear Naked® granolas: Cacao & Cashew Butter and Toasted Coconut Almond
Bear Naked® grain-free granolas: Almond Coconut, Dark Chocolate Almond, Maple Cinnamon
Kellogg's Corn Flakes are not gluten-free: they contain malt extract derived from barley. Barley contains gluten.
Post identifies the following favorite breakfast cereals as gluten-free:
All flavors of Pebbles
Malt-O-Meal Fruity Dyno-Bites, Cocoa Dyno-Bites, and Crispy Rice
More Posts Like This
- Are Tater Tots Gluten-Free?Many of you recognize tater tots as a popular snack in the United States. However, many people who need to … Read more
- Is Sour Cream Gluten Free?Sour cream is gluten-free, containing cream, milk, and lactic acid. Some producers add gluten via thickeners, stabilizers, flavorings, and preservatives. … Read more
- Is Gochujang Gluten Free?Not all gochujang is gluten free, but there are lots of brands that do make gluten free versions now. Traditional … Read more
- Is Omission Beer Gluten-free?Is Omission Beer Gluten-free? The short answer is no. Omission beer isn't gluten-free. Omission beer is a gluten-removed beer. It's … Read more
- Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten-Free?Is salt water taffy gluten-free? Salt water taffy is gluten-free, provided it’s prepared in the traditional way using the traditional … Read more