|Is salt water taffy gluten-free? Salt water taffy is gluten-free, provided it’s prepared in the traditional way using the traditional ingredients. Any additives or cross-contamination can expose it to gluten. Also, most brands do not label these candies as gluten-free.|
This is a guest post written by Jim from Nothing Gluten.
Are you wondering if salt water taffy is gluten-free, and can you have it if you are on a gluten-free diet? Keep reading to know its gluten status and more about the candy.
Salt water taffies are a classic sweet and chewy treat that makes everybody smile. The iconic candy has been a favorite among kids and adults alike, and most people still feel their day is incomplete without relishing one or two taffies.
While these candies are actually a mix of some simple ingredients, many people wonder if salt water taffy is gluten-free!
Well, salt water taffy is gluten-free, provided it’s prepared in the traditional way using the traditional ingredients. Any additives or cross-contamination can expose it to gluten. Also, most brands do not label these candies as gluten-free.
I understand the dilemma you are facing, and to clear your doubts, I have covered some facts about salt water taffy. Read on to know if you can have these candies if you have a gluten sensitivity.
What Are Its Ingredients?
Usually, salt water taffy and candies like Jolly Rancher are gluten-free most of the time! But saying a direct “yes” to the question “if salt water taffy contains gluten or not” is a little complicated. Because many brands add artificial flavors and preservatives to make these candies taste great and last longer.
However, these additives may bring along a hint of gluten, making the candies unfit for people with celiac disease or food sensitivities. You can easily tell if a salt water taffy is gluten-free by having a look at the ingredient list to see if it contains any gluten ingredients or if it's labeled with any allergy info.
It should contain the following ingredients only:
- Granulated sugar
- Corn syrup
- Natural or artificial color (gluten-free)
When Does Salt Water Taffy have Gluten?
Besides the presence of artificial additives such as different flavors and preservatives, another common reason for the occurrence of gluten in these candies is cross contamination.
Some brands manufacture different types of candies in the same facility, which means there’s a higher risk of gluten contamination since it is not a dedicated gluten free facility.
Even if the workers prepare salt water taffies with the same pair of gloves they used for preparing some other candy, it may lead to contamination.
Can Celiacs Have Salt Water Taffy?
Salt water taffies are perfect for catering to your sweet tooth, and it's natural to crave these delicious candies.
I’m happy to tell you that you can have saltwater taffies as a celiac. Make sure that the candies you are relishing has a clear allergen statement that is labeled as gluten-free or you are sure they do not contain gluten.
If you are gluten sensitive, it would be better to avoid having any salt water taffy if you don’t know about its ingredients.
Salt Water Taffy Nutrition Facts
When you have one salt water taffy candy, you crave another, and it goes on. Before the candy takes a toll on your everyday calorie goal, it would be great to know about its nutritional facts.
Note: The facts are based on a size of 3 pieces and a serving weight of 31.5 grams.
- Calories: 110.2 kCal
- Total Carbs: 25 g
- Protein: 0 g
- Total Fat: 1.9 g
- Calcium: 2.7 mg
- Saturated Fat: 0 g
- Sugars: 18 g
Gluten-free Salt Water Taffy Brands
Most salt water taffy brands do not label the candies as gluten-free, so choosing which candy to eat can be confusing. I did all the research for you and compiled a list of the best gluten-free salt water taffy brands you can trust.
#1. Taffy Town Chili and Mango Saltwater Taffy
The perfect blend of chili and mango makes these taffies taste sweet and spicy in the same bite. Taffy Town, a taffy-flavor innovator, manufactures this candy at their facility, so the chances of cross-contamination are less. Soft in texture, each candy has a nicely layered flavor profile, so you’ll crave having more.
#2. Zollipops Candy Clean Teeth Keto Sugar-Free Taffy
One brand that mentions gluten-free on its taffy label is Zollipops. These candies are gluten as well as sugar-free, so you don’t have to worry about the sugar intake, even if you pop in 2-3 candies daily.
There are several flavors packed in these taffies, and you can have a blast of taste in your mouth while having them.
#3. Taffy Shop Unicorn Poop Candy
The Unicorn Poop Candy from the Taffy Shop contains all the traditional ingredients along with gluten-free additives. In addition, these taffies are soy and peanut-free, so they are less likely to trigger any allergies.
#4. Sassy Sour (Assorted) Salt Water Taffy
Sour and tart, these gluten-free salt water taffies from Sassy Sour are sure to pucker your mouth. It contains the only ingredients found in traditional salt water taffy, with some natural flavorings. The colorful candies are perfect for kids and adults looking to cater to their taste buds with something citrusy.
Homemade Salt Water Taffy Recipe: A Quick One
You can try making salt water taffy at home if you want to be extra sure about its gluten status. Here is a quick tried-and-tested recipe to help you make delicious taffy your kids will drool over.
Ingredients You Need
- 1 tablespoon salt
- 2 cups granulated sugar
- 2 tablespoon cornstarch
- ⅔ cup of water
- 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
- 9 oz light corn syrup
- Red and green gel food coloring
- 1 tablespoon black sesame seeds
- 2 tablespoon butter
Steps to Make Salt Water Taffy
- Put the sugar, water, salt, and corn syrup into a big saucepan. Heat over low heat, and carefully stir the mixture to ensure the sugar granules get dissolved.
- Increase the heat to medium and let the mixture come to a boil. If you use a thermometer while cooking, make sure the mix does not exceed 255 degrees while boiling.
- Let it cool for 5 minutes, and add vanilla extract to it. Stir gently, and mix the extract thoroughly.
- Take another pan, and pour half of the mix into it. Now add red food coloring to one and green gel to another. Stir well using a spatula until the coloring gel blends well with the mixture.
- Add sesame seeds to the pan with the red candy mixture, and stir well. Next, properly butter two small oven dishes, and spread each mix on them. Let the taffy cool for some time and minutes; meanwhile, nutter your hands and get ready to stretch the candy.
- After 15-20 minutes, the two mixtures will be cool enough to stretch. Ensure your hands are well-buttered and start working with one candy mixture. Pick it up, stretch it, and fold it back on itself. Repeat the process for 5-7 minutes until the candy mixture gets lighter in color and is firm enough to retain its shape.
- Repeat these steps for another candy mix. Once done, split both mixtures into two pieces, and shape them like a sausage, each around 18 inches long. Lay the candy on parchment paper, and roll it out into a cylindrical shape.
- Use a pizza cutter to cut even strips out of the green candy cylinder and trim the excess bits. Remove the parchment paper. Place one strip of red candy strip between two green strips, and press gently using your fingers. Make the candy look like a slice of watermelon.
- Wrap the round candies in a square of parchment paper, and let the taffies cool before you enjoy eating them.
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, salt water taffy is entirely dairy-free. To date, I haven’t come across any salt water taffy brand that uses dairy in their candies.
There is really no difference between salt water taffy and taffy. Salt water taffy has a pinch of salt, which might be missing from the regular taffy candy.
The taffy that you purchase from the market comes wrapped in wax paper. If you make it at home, you can wrap it using parchment paper.
Now that you know the gluten status of salt water taffy, you can decide whether to have it or not. Always skim through the label and check out the ingredients before popping the candy in your mouth.
The homemade recipe to make this candy is the perfect solution to keep gluten symptoms such as bloating and nausea at bay.
Stay tuned for more informative posts, and make your gluten-free routine delicious and easy to follow.
More Posts Like This
- Is Gochujang Gluten Free?Not all gochujang is gluten free, but there are lots of brands that do make gluten free versions now. Traditional...
- Is Omission Beer Gluten-free?Is Omission Beer Gluten-free? The short answer is no. Omission beer isn't gluten-free. Omission beer is a gluten-removed beer. It's...
- Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten-Free?TweetSharePin Is salt water taffy gluten-free? Salt water taffy is gluten-free, provided it’s prepared in the traditional way using the...
- Is Crispix Gluten Free?Is Crispix Gluten-Free? Crispix is gluten-free as it has no gluten-containing ingredients since the barley malt flavoring was replaced. However,...
- Is Crabbies Ginger Beer Gluten Free?Is Crabbies Ginger Beer Gluten Free? While Crabbie's is a gluten-free beverage in the UK and Europe, it is a...
Leave a Reply