Gluten free cooking can be a great way to improve your health. Gluten is one of the proteins found in wheat and other grains.
For people who are gluten sensitive or gluten intolerant, gluten can be hard to digest. By cooking gluten free, you can avoid these negative effects and enjoy improved health!
You maybe be interested in a gluten free diet if you have celiac disease. Celiac disease is a gluten intolerance that affects the small intestine. When someone with celiac disease eats gluten, their immune system responds by damaging the small intestine. This can lead to nutrient malabsorption and a host of other problems.
A gluten free diet can also be helpful for people with gluten sensitivities. gluten sensitivity is different from celiac disease in that it does not damage the small intestine.
However, people with gluten sensitivities can still experience many of the same symptoms as those with celiac disease, including stomach pain, bloating, diarrhea, and fatigue.
Sticking to a gluten free lifestyle can be a challenge, but with some planning, it is definitely doable. By following these simple tips, you can enjoy delicious gluten free meals and snacks without worrying about your health.
Gluten Free Cooking Tips
- Gluten free baking recipes are made with a variety of flours, like rice flour and potato starch. To replace the flour in any dessert recipe, use a 1:1 gluten free flour blend like King Arthur Measure for Measure Flour.
- To prevent cross-contamination, use separate utensils or bowls only to prepare your food. Do not use the same items if you are cooking a dish with gluten.
- Be sure to read food labels carefully, as many products contain hidden sources of gluten.
- There are many gluten-free bread recipes that can be made at home with simple ingredients. Check out this easy gluten free bread machine recipe.
- There are many great gluten free bread brands available on the market. Some of our favorites are Rudi’s Gluten Free Bakery, Udi’s Gluten Free, and Against the Grain.
Gluten Free Cooking Appliances
If you're one of the millions of people who must follow a gluten free diet, you know how difficult it can be to find foods that fit your needs. Even cooking at home can be a challenge. However, cooking gluten free foods at home doesn't have to be difficult!
Find some super helpful tips for cooking gluten free in the following appliances. Also, be sure to scroll down for specific gluten free recipes for each appliance!
Gluten Free Cooking FAQs
Do you have some specific questions about eating gluten free? Browse through the most frequently asked questions about gluten free cooking below. If you cannot find the answers you are looking for, please feel free to comment below and I will answer your questions the best I can!
- Are Tater Tots Gluten-Free?Many of you recognize tater tots as a popular snack in the United States. However, many people who need to eat a gluten-free diet may be wondering, are tater tots gluten-free? I found that tater tots can be gluten-free, depending on the brand and preparation. It's essential to read labels and inquire about potential cross-contamination … Read more
- Is Sour Cream Gluten Free?Sour cream is gluten-free, containing cream, milk, and lactic acid. Some producers add gluten via thickeners, stabilizers, flavorings, and preservatives. Cross-contamination can also occur from other items produced nearby. Always check the ingredients list to ensure that it is gluten-free. Many of us eat more sour cream than we realize: it's a topping for nachos, … Read more
- Is Gochujang Gluten Free?Not all gochujang is gluten free, but there are lots of brands that do make gluten free versions now. Traditional gochujang usually has barley malt powder as an ingredient, which contains gluten. If you enjoy Korean food, you most likely have had Gochujang. This savory paste is a staple in Korean cuisine and makes the … Read more
- Is Omission Beer Gluten-free?Is Omission Beer Gluten-free? The short answer is no. Omission beer isn't gluten-free. Omission beer is a gluten-removed beer. It's made from barley which, unlike other gluten-free beers, means Omission beer tastes much more like real beer. Is it safe for people with Celiac Disease? Now that's a more challenging question to answer. Omission Brewing … Read more
- Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten-Free?Is salt water taffy gluten-free? Salt water taffy is gluten-free, provided it’s prepared in the traditional way using the traditional ingredients. Any additives or cross-contamination can expose it to gluten. Also, most brands do not label these candies as gluten-free. This is a guest post written by Jim from Nothing Gluten. Are you wondering if … Read more
- Is Crispix Gluten Free?Is Crispix Gluten-Free? Crispix is gluten-free as it has no gluten-containing ingredients since the barley malt flavoring was replaced. However, Kellogg's does not guarantee that Crispix is gluten-free as brown rice syrup may contain gluten, and there is a chance of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process. Crispix was always on the list of food to … Read more
- Is Crabbies Ginger Beer Gluten Free?Is Crabbies Ginger Beer Gluten Free? While Crabbie's is a gluten-free beverage in the UK and Europe, it is a malt beverage with barley in the US. This ginger beer is, therefore, safe to drink if you reside in Europe or the UK. However, Crabbie's is not safe to drink if you live in the … Read more
- Is Hunt's Snack Pack Pudding Gluten Free?￼Is Hunt's Snack Pack Pudding Gluten Free? Most of Hunt's Snack Pack Pudding Cups contain water, nonfat milk (real milk), sugar, modified corn starch, palm oil, some preservatives, and dyes. Since all of these ingredients are gluten-free, Snack Pack Pudding is safe for those with celiac disease, those sensitive to gluten, and those on a … Read more
- Is Crème Brûlée Gluten-Free?Is crème brûlée gluten free? Crème brûlée is gluten-free, containing cream, vanilla, sugar, eggs, and water. To be safe, always check ingredient labels for gluten if you're eating ready-made crème brûlée. Although gluten-free, crème brûlée is high in fat and sugar, so it should only be a rare, not daily, treat in a healthy diet. … Read more
- Are Skittles Gluten Free?Are skittles gluten free? Yes, Skittles are gluten-free in that they do not contain gluten as an ingredient. However, they are not guaranteed gluten-free because of the slight possibility of cross-contamination from other products. Although, most gluten-free diet experts recommend Skittles as gluten-free. Who can resist the rainbow-colored crunchy exteriors and sweet, chewy interiors of … Read more
- Is Canola Oil Gluten Free?Is canola oil gluten free? Canola oil is gluten-free as it does not contain any gluten ingredients. In fact, out of the dozens of different oils available on the market, most cooking oils are naturally gluten-free and only contain gluten-free ingredients. Canola oil is naturally gluten-free. However, there could be a risk of cross contamination … Read more
- Is Aunt Jemima Syrup Gluten-Free?￼Is Aunt Jemima Syrup Gluten-Free? Aunt Jemima Pancake Syrup is gluten-free in that it does not contain gluten as an ingredient. It is not guaranteed gluten-free, however, because of the slight possibility of cross-contamination from other products. However, most gluten-free diet experts consider this syrup to be gluten-free. Aunt Jemima Original Pancake Syrup, recently rebranded … Read more
- Are Fritos Gluten Free?Are Fritos gluten-free? Yes, Fritos are gluten-free! This means that every bag of Fritos original corn chips can be enjoyed with a gluten-free diet. These are perfect for a gluten-free option when you need a snack. The bad news is that this iconic snack is crazy good, so you're going to possibly eat a ton … Read more
- Are Grits Gluten-Free?Are grits gluten-free? Grits are naturally gluten-free. However, they could be processed in a factory that also processes wheat products. So just be mindful of that and read labels before purchasing your grits. If you have celiac disease, cross-contamination could be very harmful. Are grits gluten-free? The answer is yes! Grits are whole grain, and … Read more
- Is Couscous Gluten Free?So, is couscous gluten-free? The answer is no. Most couscous is not gluten-free because it is made from semolina, which is a type of flour made from durum wheat and contains gluten. While couscous is often mistaken for a gluten-free ingredient, it is important to note that it is made from a gluten-containing grain. However, … Read more
- Is Farro Gluten Free?If you're new to the gluten-free lifestyle, you may be wondering, is farro gluten free? Keep reading to find out if this ancient grain is safe to consume on your diet. What is Farro? Farro is a whole grain that is packed full of fiber and protein. It is chewy and very similar in texture … Read more